Florida personal injury protection (PIP) insurance can be a welcome relief for accident victims. The insurance provides payment for the costs of medical care and lost wages, up to policy limits, without regard for who is at fault for the crash.
Florida PIP insurance requirements are important for vehicle owners, drivers, passengers, and even pedestrians to know. Our Plantation personal injury lawyer explains Florida PIP insurance requirements.
Understanding Florida PIP Insurance
All vehicle owners in Florida must have $10,000 in Florida PIP insurance. A claim may be paid without regard for fault in an accident.
What is Florida PIP insurance?
Florida PIP insurance pays benefits for injured motor vehicle accident victims regardless of who is at fault. All vehicle owners must have PIP insurance.
How does PIP insurance pay in the event of an accident?
In the event of an accident, PIP insurance pays:
- 80% of medical bills
- 60% of lost wages
- 60% of the cost of replacement household services
- Up to $10,000 in losses and up to $5,000 in death benefits
- Up to $20,000 if multiple injured parties are covered
A deductible may apply. For example, if there is a $1,000 deductible, and the person has $2000 in medical bills, the policy pays 80% of the remaining $1,000, or $800.
Medical bills may include costs of diagnostic, surgical, rehabilitative, nursing, and hospital services. Prosthetic devices are covered, too. Care providers and facilities must be licensed.
Does PIP insurance depend on fault?
No. If an accident victim is covered, they can access benefits quickly without having to prove who is at fault for the accident.
What is the Florida PIP law?
Florida Statutes § 627.736 is the Florida PIP law. Additional statutes that may apply are § 627.733 – Required Security and § 627.7407 – Application of the Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law.
Required Coverage and Payments
What Florida PIP insurance is required?
$10,000 in PIP benefits is required. Florida PIP insurance is required for every registered vehicle in the State of Florida.
Note: There is also a $10,000 requirement for property damage liability.
Who does a PIP insurance policy cover?
When a vehicle owner takes out a PIP insurance policy, it may cover:
- The named insured party
- Relatives in the same household
- Pedestrians struck while not in a motor vehicle
Florida’s PIP law dictates who must be covered by a policy. A policy pays damages for bodily injury, sickness, disease, or death arising from the ownership, maintenance, or use of a motor vehicle as required by law.
Household residents may be specifically excluded from coverage.
Can a person get additional insurance?
A $10,000 limit for medical care and lost wages can quickly add up. Drivers can get additional insurance. MedPay is an optional add-on that can cover 20% of medical bills that aren’t covered by a basic policy and another 20% of lost wages. There is no deductible or co-pay for MedPay. A vehicle owner can also purchase bodily injury and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
What does PIP insurance pay in the event of an accident?
PIP insurance pays 80% of medical bills and 60% of lost income in the event of an accident. If the medical condition was non-emergency, benefits are limited to $2,500. Florida Statutes § 395.002 defines an emergency medical condition.
Who Needs Florida PIP Insurance?
Generally, every vehicle owner must have Florida PIP insurance. There are some exceptions:
- School buses
- Taxi cabs (they have their own security requirements)
- Mobile homes
- Other structures that cannot move on their own
- Motorcycles and other vehicles with less than four wheels
Is PIP coverage mandatory in Florida?
Yes. A vehicle owner must have the required insurance to register their vehicle in Florida, including PIP insurance. A person working in the state or enrolling children in a Florida public school must have the required insurance for their vehicle.
What happens if you don’t have PIP coverage in Florida?
Failing to have PIP coverage in Florida can result in being responsible for the first portion of your car accident damages, even if you otherwise qualify to bring a legal claim for compensation. In addition, you may face fines and suspension of your driver’s license. A driver may need to file form SR-22, and their insurance rates may go up.
How Do PIP Benefits Work
What is the Florida PIP 14-day rule?
To receive Florida PIP benefits, the injured victim must receive medical care within 14 days of the accident. It’s always best to get medical attention right away to rule out serious injury and prevent doubt about the cause of injuries.
What if PIP benefits are not enough? What can I do?
If PIP benefits are insufficient to pay damages, the victim may look for other insurance that may cover the claim. If the victim has a serious injury, they may qualify to bring a claim against a party at fault for the accident. They should also check if they have MedPay, uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage that may provide payment.
Our experienced lawyers can look at all the options available and ways to pursue your compensation.
Do all states have PIP insurance?
No. Florida was the second U.S. state to adopt a no-fault insurance system. They first passed no-fault insurance laws in 1971. Today, 12 states have some form of no-fault. The exact requirements and coverages vary between states.
Florida PIP FAQs
Is acupuncture covered?
No. Florida PIP laws exclude acupuncture as covered medical care.
Is massage therapy covered?
No. Massage therapy is not covered under Florida PIP laws.
Are there any times when PIP insurance doesn’t have to pay?
PIP insurance doesn’t cover intentional injuries or injuries that occur in the commission of a felony.
Your Rights in Florida PIP Law
PIP insurance requirements are two-fold. The insured party must get the required insurance. The insurance company must pay covered benefits in the event of an accident.
Scarfone Auto Accident & Personal Injury Attorneys is dedicated to helping victims get the compensation they deserve. It’s always a good idea to talk to a lawyer following a car accident.
Florida insurance laws can be confusing. It’s hard to know if you’re getting the benefits you deserve and how you can get compensated for a car accident. The Scarfone legal team can help you navigate your insurance and compensation claims.
Pick up the phone and call Scarfone!